Moving a Google Analytics property to another account

Want to move your Google Analytics data?

Now you can!

The new Google Analytics property moving feature allows you to move your data into a different account with the click of a button (okay a couple of buttons) without having to change your tracking code and without losing all your historical data.

Amazing!

You might be wondering why would I need to move my Google Analytics property to another account? Great question. It generally comes down to planning. When Google Analytics first came out all those years ago we all went tagging crazy. Putting the Google Analytics tracking code on everything we could.

I found a lot (and I mean a lot) of agencies and web developers would create a new tracking code (aka property) and place it on their clients’ website. This meant that there was a single Google Analytics account that contained the properties of all of their clients!

The main problem this causes is when a client wants full access to their data. Since they’re mixed in with other clients it just isn’t possible to provide complete access. Property moving within Google Analytics solves this problem.

Top reasons you might want to move a Google Analytics property:

  • It’s in an account with other people’s websites
  • You’ve acquired a website and want to consolidate your data
  • One of your sub-brands or microsites now needs its own account
  • You’ve accidentally put the wrong website within an account
  • You need to restructure your properties

Umm, what is a property anyway?

Great question! Here’s the simplest way I’ve found to explain a property in Google Analytics...

Think of a Google Analytics property as an instance of your tracking code.

For example, if you have two tracking codes, one with UA-123456-1 and another with UA-123456-2 then you have two properties (the one that ends in “-1” and the second that ends in “-2”).

You can have one or more properties (instances of your tracking code) within your Google Analytics account and each property can have one or more reporting views. Here’s the simplest structure you can have:

And here is an account that has multiple properties and views:

What is actually transferred when you move a property?

The great thing is that is does actually move all of your data into the account you select. You’re not starting from scratch. Moved properties will include:

  • All your historical data. Yay!
  • Your configurations for the property, including: linked AdWords accounts, Search Console, remarketing audiences, custom dimensions, custom metrics and imported data.
  • The settings for the reporting views within the property. This includes the view settings, goals, filters, calculated metrics and all the other configurations you can make for your views.

Can I move the property multiple times?

Yes. Just repeat the steps by selecting ‘Move Property’ and then select the account where you would like it to live.

What’s required to move a property?

You’ll need to have the correct level of permissions on the property you want to move and the account you want to move it to. This is ‘Manage Users’ and ‘Edit’ permission. (And if you’re moving data in or out of a Google Analytics 360 account there are some other requirements. )

Can I move a single reporting view?

No. Moving is at the property level, so all of the views within that property will be transferred into the account you select.

Steps for moving a Google Analytics property:

It’s really straightforward. First you need to head to the property you want to move (just click on ‘Admin’ and then select the property in the middle column). Now click on ‘Property Settings’ and in the top right corner you should see the ‘Move Property’ button.

Don’t see the button? You will need to check your permissions for the property first.

Next you’ll need to select the destination account (again you’ll need the correct permissions). Then you need to decide on the user permissions for the moved property. The first option “keep existing property and view permissions” will mean that people who currently have access to the property and views will continue to have access in the new account. On the other hand if you select “replace existing property and view permissions” only the people who have access to the account (where it’s being moved) will have access.

Then you need to agree to Google’s terms and click ‘Start Move’.

It can take a couple of minutes for the property to be moved. So don’t freak out that it’s gone missing. It will turn up in the account you’ve selected. It just takes a little time.

And you’re done!

You’ll see the property within the account and it will still have it’s original tracking ID, which means there’s no need to change your tracking code. Amazing.

Conclusion

The ability to move properties within Google Analytics has been a top requested feature for a while. It gives you the flexibility to move your data when you need. You’re not locked in and there is no excuse for someone saying that you’ll have to start a new account. They’re lying!

Remember to move a property you’ll need the correct permissions and you can find the option within the ‘Admin’ section, just click on ‘Property Settings’.